Leaning Into Night

Bare feet planted on firm hardwood

Hands braced against chilled metal doorway

I shiver toward the night

Spun-glass snow below

Austere icicles above

Car on wet road

Two miles away

Makes me wonder

Who else is taking in the night

Are they blocking it out with music

Driving it before them

With headlights

Or embracing darkness as a friend

Glasses lost, I glimpse one blurred star

When I look directly

It’s gone

My first poetry assignment for my Intro to Creative Writing Class.  I have no idea how this professor will grade this poem.  Poetry is so subjective.  I think this poem is decent.  I enjoyed writing it.

Leave a Reply

