Catch 22

I am trying to write a novel–a romantic comedy.  I am also taking online college classes, parenting a couple of extremely busy young children, am married, a sewist,  and a part-time administrator/bouncer in an online discussion group, and at 12:43 AM tonight (or this morning) I am so tired I can’t even think straight.  Excuse any grammatical errors or mixed metaphors that may crop up.  I stayed up late working on my Intro to Psychology homework (and wrestling with my 2-year-old daughter who keeps getting up wandering around the house).  The main reason I am going to college is so I can become a better writer.  I am enjoying my classes and learning so much.  Already, I feel like a more rounded person.  I’m a significantly better writer than when I started, but…I just don’t have time to write about what I want to write about.  I’m 14 pages into my story, 2 months after starting it.  That’s an average of 1 page every 4 days.  I could be writing in it now, instead of blogging in my obscure little blog, but my brain is fried.  I figured writing it out might help me decompress.  

 

Should I just put less time and effort in the classes that don’t matter as much to me, and use that time working on my book?  Psychology is interesting, but I forgot the phraseology and terms almost instantly.  Maybe I shouldn’t bother trying to cram things into my head that aren’t going to stay there.  Maybe I should focus on my long-term goal of writing a book and do a half-assed job on some of my short-term goals when they get in the way.  Really, what is so shameful about getting a “C”?  I have earned “A’s” and “B’s” on all of my classes my first year.  Those delicious little “A’s” and “B’s” are addicting, especially because I hardly ever saw them from the third grade through my (second) senior year in high school.  But… if I settled for a “C” now and then, I could work on my story more.  It’s not going to be some great work of fiction, I admit.  I love to tell stories, but Jane Austen I am not.  At best, it will be entertaining and amusing.  Groundbreaking?  Hardly.  Predictable?  Yes.  Original plot?  Don’t make me laugh.  (Though in my defense, some diverting little quirks of character run through my story).  Can I tie the vivid ideas that flit through my head into a cohesive whole?  Somewhat.  I don’t think I have creative genius, but I can churn out a pretty good imitation of it sometimes.  I just want to see what I can do, publish it, do something better, publish that, and so forth.

 

So the moral dilemma is:  Should I sacrifice learning all I can in some classes so I have more time and energy to write?  Hmmm.  Hmmm, hmmm, hmmmm.

2 thoughts on “Catch 22

  1. Lara B. says:

    Hi kiddo! That is a quandary. How much longer does the psychology class have before you can wrap it up? Those As and Bs are good for your confidence! I took a lot of psych courses while in college and even though a lot of it got lost in my brain’s back files, they have helped with understanding people. (some people at least, LOL). On the other hand, with writing you need to get your story and ideas onto paper whenever inspiration strikes. So, if there is a psych paper due that is blocking progress then that would be quite frustrating! I don’t know how you do it all so well!

    • mrspodge says:

      Lara, you are so nice! My psychology class has 6 more weeks before I can wrap up. The class discussion posts and quizzes suck a lot out of me. Sometimes I just really want to hand in assignments late so I can write while the ideas are still fresh. I imagine you know a lot about that, since you have a book about to be published! I can’t wait to read it!!!

      Maybe, when I get the urge to sew, I should write instead. –No, can’t do that; too painful. It’s become increasingly clear that something’s gotta give, though!

Leave a Reply

