Sewing for Myself

Hello, folks! It has been four months since I’ve posted anything. I’m sorry it’s taken so long. I got caught up with other things and sometimes find it difficult to sit down and write something, though I am always thinking of it. I think my main problem is that I am a perfectionist. I can write something perfectly beautiful in my head, but when I sit down to type, my mind draws a blank, or comes up with something sub-par. It’s very frustrating.

Anyway, I thought I’d jump back in by posting some projects I’ve been working on. I made myself a cute top from Sis Boom’s Carolina Mae pattern, and am really happy with the results. I had my husband take pictures of me in the snow (he stood inside our kitchen door), because taking a picture in the snow was easier than cleaning my house so children’s toys and piles of unfolded laundry would not appear in the photo. So without further ado, here is my cute new top. It was a pretty easy sew, despite having a zipper. Carla Hegeman Crim gives great directions for putting zippers in with a glue stick, of all things. I have never put in a zipper perfectly, but with her method, I get pretty close to it sometimes. The fabric is from Jennifer Paganelli’s “Circa” line, which I love. I never thought I’d use this fabric for clothing for myself, because I tend to look frightful in green, but there are just enough little blue and pink flowers in here to keep me from looking seasick.

There are several style options for this pattern. The bodice can be ruched or plain, with a higher or lower neckline. I’m modeling the lower neckline. It can be a dress or a top. It can have cap sleeves, full-length sleeves, three-quarter sleeves, or none at all. There is even a pattern included for a very cute little bow.

I was delighted to finally have something casual that worked with the pearls my husband got me for my first Mother’s Day. Or was it another holiday? I don’t remember. I do remember it made me feel absolutely wonderful. I seriously have the most thoughtful husband in the world. And now, I have a child to pick up from preschool! I hope I’m not late!

CarolineMaetop

3 thoughts on “Sewing for Myself

Leave a Reply

