Balancing Writing and Sewing

186 pages. Approaching 60,000 words.

That’s not unimpressive for a year’s worth of work on a rough draft of my first novel. However, I have been stuck at 186 pages for a couple of months. I write a sentence here, then see something I don’t like somewhere else and take it out.

Last month was “Sew Month” for online seamstresses everywhere, and I entered a pattern cover contest in The Scientific Seamstress Lab Group. I’ve been sewing up a storm. It’s funny; when I focus on my story and put aside sewing, I feel immensely proud of myself, but like I have an itch I just can’t scratch. When I sew and sew and sew, my house gets even messier, but I feel more creative overall and feel positive about my story, even though I have less time to work on it, and I feel good to hold something FINISHED in my hands. Housework is never finished. My book is (seemingly) never finished. Taking a snapshot of something I made makes me feel such a sense of accomplishment. However, I also feel guilty for neglecting my story.

I’ve been starting to weave a thread (pardon the pun) into my story about how the heroine loves to sew, and hopefully that will help piece my two loves together.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My niece and daughter modeling Carla Hegeman Crim’s “Stripwork Jumper”.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love helping little girls feel beautiful!

IMG_1770

Pattern by The Scientific Seamstress

https://www.etsy.com/listing/83241757/stripwork-jumper-top-or-dress-for-girl?ref=shop_home_active_1

Fabric by Sis Boom

http://www.sisboom.com

Leave a Reply

